IEEE Symposium on

Computational Intelligence in Cyber Security

Computational Intelligence constitutes an umbrella of techniques, has proven to be flexible in solving dynamic and complex real-world problems. These techniques typically include Machine Learning, Fuzzy Logic, Evolutionary Computation, Intelligent Agent Systems, Neural Networks, Cellular Automata, Artificial Immune Systems, Game Theory and other similar computational models. These techniques are widely used in different cyber security applications such as online behavior monitoring, e-fraud detection, robust decision support modules to enhance the protection of computing devices and information infrastructure at different levels.

The manuscripts should be submitted in PDF format. Click Here to know further guidelines for submission.

 Cyber defense is a continuously changing attack landscape as the software/hardware components are added and/or updated more frequently at different layers of cyber systems for additional functionalities and/or improved usability while these may not be security-enabled. Attackers exploit these vulnerabilities and find attack paths to compromise the target systems. The multi-faceted Computational Intelligent (CI) techniques appear to provide an efficient security paradigm to deal with influx of new threats in next generation high-performance network infrastructures and large-scale smart applications. These approaches can also be used to augment defense-in-depth architectures and to add necessary security enhancements to the design, implementation and operation of legacy and future cyber-enabled systems.


The symposium will cover all the issues, research and development of the state-of-the-art CI-based technologies in solving various computer and information security problems. CI application areas include, but are not limited to:

  •    Intrusion/malware detection, prediction, classification, and response
  •    models for survivable, resilient, and self-healing systems
  •    sensor network security, web security, wireless and 4G, 5G media security
  •    digital forensics, security information visualization
  •    new sensor fusion and decision support for mobile device security
  •    Self-awareness, auto-defensiveness, self-reconfiguration, and self-healing networking paradigm
  •    Modeling adversarial behavior for insider and outsider threat detection
  •    Cloud and virtualization security, Internet of Things (IoT), wearable device security.
  •    Identity Science, Authentication and Access Control
  •    Social network security and privacy
  •    Electronic Healthcare security, privacy and compliance
  •    BigData and Application Security
  •    Blockchain Security

Accepted Special Sessions

  • Computational Intelligence in Identity Ecosystem
    • Chairs:
      Abhijit K Nag, Texas A&M-Central Texas, TX, USA
      Kaushik Roy, North Carolina A&T State University, USA
    • More Information
  • Computational Intelligence for Digital Data Hiding
    • Chairs:
      Mehul S Raval, Associate Professor, School of Engineering and Applied Science, Ahmedabad University, India
      Shubhalaxmi Kher, Arkansas State University, Jonesboro, USA
    • More Information
  • Computational Intelligence for Intrusion Detection
    • Chairs:
      Dr. G Padmavathi, Avinashilingam Institute Coimbatore
      Dr. Rahul Singh, Bryan School of Business and Economics, University of North Carolina, Greensboro.
    • More Information
  • Computational Intelligence in Cyber Threat Analytics
    • Chairs:
      Vinti Agarwal, Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU)
      Katrin Franke, Andrii Shalaginov, Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU)
      Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU)
      M. Tanveer, Indian Institute of Technology, Indore
    • More Information

Symposium Chair

Dipankar Dasgupta
The University of Memphis, USA


Marco Carvalho

Florida Institute of Technology, USA

Dr.Shamik Sural

Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur, India

Publicity Chair

Manik Lal Das
DA-IICT, Gandhinagar, India

Program Committee

Shamik SuralIndian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur, India
Manik Lal DasDA-IICT, Gandhinagar, India.
Ashok Kumar DasInternational Institute of Information Technology, Hyderbad, India
Arunava RoySRM Institute of Science and Technology, Chennai, India
Soumitra BuhayanThe University of Memphis, USA
Aditya BagchiIndian Statistical Institute (ISI), Kolkata, India
Chandan MazumdarJadavpur University, Kolkata, India.
S. RamasastriIDRBT, Hyderabad, India
Vikram GoyalIndian Institute of Information Technology (IIIT), Delhi, India
Sandeep ShuklaIndian Institute of Technology (IIT) Kanpur, India
Anoop SinghalNational Institute of Science & Technology (NIST), USA
Peng LiuThe Pennsylvania State University, USA
Abhijit K. NagTexas A & M-Central Campus, USA.
Sukumar NandiIndian Institute of Technology (IIT), Guwahati, India
Nirnay Ghosh Missouri University of Science and Technology, Rolla, MO, USA
Sara ForestiUniversity of Milan, Italy
Murat KantarciogluUniversity of Texas at Dallas, USA
Bharat BhargavPurdue University, USA
Vir V. PhohaSyracuse University, USA
Victor SkorminBinghamton University (SUNY), USA
Gerry DozierAuburn University, USA
Fredrick SheldonSouth Dakota State University, USA
Ali MiliNew Jersey Institute of Technology, USA
Sajal DasMissouri Science & Technology, USA
Sajjan ShivaThe University of Memphis, USA
Bijaya Ketan PanigrahiIndian Institute of Technology, Delhi, India
Ravi SandhuUniversity of Texas at San Antonio, USA
Rabi MahapatraTexas A & M at College Station, USA
Giovanni Iacca University of Trento, Italy
Nabendu ChakiUniversity of Calcutta, India
Vicenc Torra University of Skövde, Sweden.
Bimal K. RoyIndian Statistical Institute (ISI) Kolkata, India
Susmita RujIndian Statistical Institute (ISI) Kolkata, India
Debdeep MukhopadhyaIndian Institute of Technology (IIT), Kharagpur, India
Somitra Kr SanadhyaIndian Institute of Technology (IIT), Ropar, India
Devesh C JinwalaSardar Vallabhbhai National Institute of Technology (SVNIT), Surat, India
Sanjit ChatterjeeIndian Institute of Science (IISc), Bengaluru, India
Ujjwal MaulikJadavpur University, India
Arpan PalTCS Research and Innovation, India
Kusum DeepIndian Institute of Technology, Roorkee, India
Sushil JajodiaGeorge Mason University, USA
Murat Kantarcioglu University of Texas at Dallas, USA
Vijay AnandSouth East Missouri State University, USA
Sankardas RoyBowling Green State University, USA
Bo Chen Michigan Tech, USA
Rajat Subhra ChakrabortyIndian Institute of Technology (IIT), Kharagpur, India
Kaushik RoyNorth Carolina A&T State University, USA
Marco CarvalhoFlorida Institute of Technology, USA
Vasilis KatosBournemouth University, UK
Shambhu UpadhyayaBuffalo University, USA
Latifur KhanUniversity of Texas at Dallas, USA
Ratan GuhaUniversity of Central Florida, USA
Wenliang DuSyracuse University, USA
Shubhalaxmi KherArkansas State University, Jonesboro, USA
Padmavathi GanapathiAIHS for Women, Coimbatore, India
Wendy Hui WangStevens Institute of Technology, USA